Auditions

Audition Announcement
Opera Tampa will hold auditions in New York and Tampa for the 2016 Florida Opera Festival
Daniel Lipton, Artistic Director and Conductor

New York Auditions, by appointment only, to be held at Shetler Studios,
244 W 54th St., New York, NY 10019 (Singers must provide their own accompanist)
Tuesday, November 11, 2014        10 a.m.-3 p.m.
Wednesday, November 12, 2014     10 a.m.-3 p.m.
Thursday, November 13, 2014        10 a.m.-3 p.m.
Friday, November 14, 2014        10 a.m.-3 p.m.

Tampa Auditions, by appointment only, to be held at The David A. Straz Center for
The Performing Arts, 1010 North W.C MacInnes Place, Tampa, FL 33602
(An accompanist will be provided)
Sunday, November 23, 2014        Beginning at 11:00 a.m.
Monday, November 24, 2014        Beginning at 4:00 p.m.

Festival Productions:
New Voices Concert*
Rehearsals begin Monday, February 8, 2016
Performance on Sunday, February 14, 2016
*The soprano position has been cast

La Traviata
Rehearsals begin Monday, February 22, 2016
Performances Friday, March 11 and Sunday, March 13, 2016
*The role of Violetta has been cast

Don Giovanni
Rehearsals begin Monday, March 21, 2016
Performances Friday, April 8 and Sunday, April 10, 2016
*The role of Zerlina has been cast.

 * Opera Tampa New Voices is a quartet of young professional singers who will be the featured performers in the concert on February 14, 2016 and will be cast in major or supporting roles in one or both of the 2016 Florida Opera Festival Productions.  During the weeks of February 16-21 and March 14-20, 2016 they may be asked to perform at a limited number of high profile promotional and donor events.

Please submit audition requests by Monday, October 20, 2014 to:
Frank McClain, Opera Tampa Managing Director
frank.mcclain@strazcenter.org



Opera Tampa Chorus Auditions:

The Straz Center's fully professional, paid opera chorus, under the direction of Chorus Master Robin Stamper and Opera Tampa's world-renowned Artistic Director and Conductor Daniel Lipton, performs on the Straz Center's prestigious stages. We are looking for experienced male and female singers with a commitment to excellence.

Auditions are Sunday, Sept. 14, with appointments beginning at 4 p.m.

E-mail Frank McClain for a 10-minute time slot at frank.mcclain@strazcenter.org.

All members of the chorus must re-audition at the start of each season. Singers should prepare two contrasting arias and/or art songs; one in a foreign language, preferably in Italian, but not required. Singers who are candidates for the chorus must be able to read music and show good sound quanlity, intonation, and langugage skills.

Main Stage Auditions:
Preliminary inquiries for auditions should be made via regular mail. The artist will be contacted if an audition is deemed appropriate. Enclose a press packet which includes:

  • Headshot
  • Bio
  • Resume
  • Audio or video representation of the artist

The materials should be mailed to:
Opera Tampa
David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts
1010 N. W. C. MacInnes Place
Tampa, Florida 33602
Attn: Auditions